Call for Papers
HEALTHINF is organized by INSTICC (Institute for Systems and Technologies of Information, Control and Communication)


The purpose of the International Conference on Health Informatics is to bring together researchers and practitioners interested in the application of information and communication technologies (ICT) to healthcare and medicine in general and to the specialized support to persons with special needs in particular.
Databases, networking, graphical interfaces, intelligent decision support systems and specialized programming languages are just a few of the technologies currently used in medical informatics. Mobility and ubiquity in healthcare systems, standardization of technologies and procedures, certification, privacy are some of the issues that medical informatics professionals and the ICT industry in general need to address in order to further promote ICT in healthcare. In the case of medical rehabilitation and assistive technology the use of ICT has had important results in the enhancement of the quality of life, contributing to a full integration of all citizens in the societies they are also part of.
HEALTHINF is a forum for debating all these aspects. Furthermore, this conference is also a meeting place for those interested in understanding the human and social implications of technology, not only in healthcare systems but in other aspects of human-machine interaction such as accessibility issues.

HEALTHINF encourages authors to submit papers to one of the main topics indicated below, describing original work, including methods, techniques, advanced prototypes, applications, systems, tools or survey papers, reporting research results and/or indicating future directions. Accepted papers will be presented at the conference by one of the authors and published in the proceedings. Acceptance will be based on quality, relevance and originality. There will be both oral and poster sessions.
The proceedings will be indexed by several major international indexers.
Special sessions are also welcome. Please contact the secretariat for further information on how to propose a special session. Additional information can be found at


- eHealth
- Online medical applications
- Telemedicine
- Medical and Nursing Informatics
- Confidentiality and Data Security
- Interoperability
- Wearable Health Informatics
- Semantic Interoperability
- Therapeutic Systems and Technologies
- Physiological Modeling
- e-Commerce in the Health Sector
- Hospital Management Systems
- Databases and Datawarehousing
- Datamining
- Decision Support Systems
- Expert Systems in Healthcare
- Cognitive Informatics
- Affective Computing
- Human-Machine Interfaces for Disabled Persons
- Development of Assistive Technology for Independent Living
- ICT for Cognitive Disabilities
- ICT, Ageing and Disability
- Socio-Economic Issues of Assistive Technology
- Practice Based Research Methods for Assistive Technology


Sergio Cerutti, Polytechnic University of Milan, Italy
Kevin Warwick, University of Reading, U.K.
F. H. Lopes da Silva, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Gert Pfurtscheller, Graz University of Technology, Austria
Vipul Kashyap, Partners HealthCare System, Clinical Informatics R&D, U.S.A.
David Hall, Research Triangle Institute in North Carolina, U.S.A.
Albert Cook, University of Alberta, Canada


All accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings, under an ISBN reference, on paper and on CD-ROM support.
A book including a selection of the best conference papers will be edited and published by Springer.


HEALTHINF Secretariat
Address: Av. D.Manuel I, 27A 2ºesq.
              2910-595 Set˙bal - Portugal
Tel.: +351 265 520 185
Fax: +44 203 014 5436


The conference will be held in the Hotel Tivoli Ocean Park. The Tivoli Ocean Park is a truly stunning property located 5 minutes from Funchal city centre and 30 minutes from Madeira International Airport. This award-winning hotel overlooks the beachfront promenade and guests are guaranteed gorgeous views of the sea with direct access from the hotel to the sandy beach.


Ana Fred, IST - Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal
Joaquim Filipe, Polytechnic Institute of Set˙bal / INSTICC, Portugal
Hugo Gamboa, Instituto de Telecomunicaš§es, Portugal
Jorge Cardoso, UMA, Madeira, Portugal


Luis Azevedo, Instituto Superior TÚcnico, Portugal
Ana Rita Londral, ANDITEC,Portugal

Osman Abul, TOBB University of Economics and Technology, Turkey
Arnold Baca, University of Vienna, Austria
Iddo Bante, University of Twente, Netherlands
Jyh-Horng Chen, National Taiwan University, Taiwan, Province of China
Kay Connelly, Indiana University, United States
Amar Das, Stanford University, United States
Adrie Dumay, TNO, Netherlands
Eduardo B. Fernandez, Florida Atlantic University, United States
Alexandru Floares, Oncological Institute Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Jose Fonseca, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Toshio Fukuda, Nagoya University, Japan
M. Chris Gibbons, Johns Hopkins University, United States
David Greenhalgh, University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom
Jin-Kao Hao, University of Angers, France
Tin Ho, Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent, United States
John H. Holmes, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, United States
Chun-Hsi Huang, University of Connecticut, United States
Benjamin Jung, empirica - Gesellschaft fŘr Kommunikations- und Technologieforschung mbH, Germany
Stavros Karkanis, Technological Educational Inst of Lamia, Greece
Andreas Kerren, Vńxj÷ University, Sweden
Georgios Kontaxakis, Universidad PolitÚcnica de Madrid, Spain
Nigel Lovell, University of New South Wales, Australia
Andrew Mason, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Boleslaw Mikolajczak, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, United States
Ahmed Morsy, Cairo University, Egypt
Leif Peterson, The Methodist Hospital, United States
Laura Roa, University of Seville, Spain
Jean Roberts, University of Central Lancashire, United Kingdom
Joel Rodrigues, Institue of Telecommunications / University of Beira Interior, Portugal
Marcos Rodrigues, Sheffield Hallam University, United Kingdom
George Sakellaropoulos, University of Patras, Greece
Meena Kishore Sakharkar, Nanyang Technologcail University, Singapore, Singapore
Ovidio Salvetti, ISTI-CNR, Italy
Nickolas Sapidis, University of the Aegean, Greece
Sepe Sehati, Oxford Brookes University, United Kingdom
Boris Shishkov, IICREST / University of Twente, Netherlands
Iryna Skrypnyk, University of Jyvaskyla, Finland
John Stankovic, University of Virginia, United States
Ron Summers, Loughborough University, United Kingdom
Adrian Tkacz, BioMedical-IT, Poland
Aristides Vagelatos, RACTI, Greece
Athanasios Vasilakos, University of Western Macedonia, Greece
Taieb Znati, University of Pittsburgh, United States
Copyright © INSTICC                      Page updated on 16/12/09